Groups

Groups are collections of users. Users that carry out common functions are grouped together in order that roles (and therefore permissions) can be granted to the group as a whole instead of to each individual user. This is possible as all members of the group inherit the security permissions that are assigned to users through group roles. You can add as many users as you want to a particular group.

Click the Groups in the left navigation menu under Administration, a new Groups Tab folder will be created in the right panel. There are 3 sub-Tab folders: Search Groups, Search Result Groups and Create New Groups.

Group search screen

Search Groups

Search Criteria

Field Name Description
Group ID Unique record identifier.
Group Name Name of this group.
Description Description of this group.
CreatedByDate Date and Time when this entry was created
CreatedByUser User who created this entry.
ModifiedByDate Last modified date and time.
ModifiedByUser Last modified user.
AND Select AND radio box if you want those criteria add together.
OR Select OR radio box if you want to get the result if either of the criteria is met.

Functional buttons

  • Find: – click the Find button to search.
  • Clear:– click the Clear button to clear all the criteria.

Search Result Groups

Group search result screen

The top part is the table which shows the list of the groups that meet the search criteria. The bottom part is the details, Roles, Users and combined permissions of the selected entry.

Each entry can have 0 to many roles, users and permissions. (see Roles, Users, and Permissions for details on Roles, Users and Permissions)

Update/Delete Groups

Double Click the selected record in the table to modify this entry. A new tab folder “Update/Delete Groups” will be added, as shown below.

Groups update/delete screen

Functional buttons

  • Update: – Make changes on the groups and save and switch back to “Search result groups” Tab. Some of the fields in this form are read only, like Group Id, created/modified user and date.
  • Reset:– Reset the data to its initial value and discard all the changes.
  • Cancel:– Cancel this change and switch back to “Search result groups” Tab.
  • Roles:– Assign roles to the group. Clicking this button will open a popup window, as follows;
Group Roles Grant/revoke screen

When a role is assigned to users or groups, it must also specify an Organizational Unit. A Group can have a role A in Organization Unit X, and a role B in Organization Unit Y.

First select an Orgunit from the orgunit dropdown list, then grant or revoke the roles to the group by checking or unchecking the checkbox besides each role.

  • Update – Click the Update button to update the changes and close the popup window.
  • Reset – Reset the data to its initial value and discard all the changes.
  • Cancel –Cancel this change and close the popup window.
  • Users:– Assign users to the group. Clicking this button will open a popup window, as follows;
Groups User update/delete screen

Add or remove users to the group by checking or unchecking the checkbox besides each user.

  • Update – Click the Update button to update the changes and close the popup window.
  • Reset – Reset the data to its initial value and discard all the changes.
  • Cancel –Cancel this change and close the popup window.
  • Delete:– Delete this entry and switch back to the “Search result Groups” Tab.

Create New Groups

Select the “Create New Groups” Tab to create a new entry.

Groups create new screen
Field Name Description
Group ID Unique record identifier.
Group Name Name of this group.
Description Description of this group.
CreatedByDate Date and Time when this entry was created. It is a read only field.
CreatedByUser User who created this this entry. It is a read only field.
ModifiedByDate Last modified date and time; It is a read only field.
ModifiedByUser Last modified user; It is a read only field.

Functional buttons

  • Create: – Click the Create button to create a new group entry and switch to “Search result Groups” Tab.
  • Clear:– Click the Clear button to clear all the fields
  • Cancel:– Click the Cancel button to cancel operation and switch back to “Search result Groups” Tab.